July Member of the Month: Brian Pott

Thank you for your time and for accepting to be our “Member Of the Month.” Before we get into your story, let’s start with a brief introduction… (Age, town, family/kids, occupation, etc.)

I’m 36 years old and have lived in Hingham since 2014. My wife Emily and I have a 1 year old daughter, Madeleine, whom I’ve been very fortunate to have been allowed to bring to class when I need to. I’m originally a Mainer but I’ve been exiled down here in MA for about a decade now. Aside from the gym I occasionally play hockey and try to get out on the mountain bike at Wompatuck when I can. I’m an engineer by education (Virginia Tech) and I work in Norwell at an environmental services company that I’ve been with for 18 years now (half my life, I know!)

When and how did you get started with us?

I started in November, 2016. I hadn’t been to a gym for a few months after we had our daughter. My wife kept running into Anthony Pickering around town, who had trained me briefly in the past, and he kept pressuring her to get me to come in.

Favorite workout?

I just like it when I beat my expectations. It’s those little highs like going unbroken, or finishing faster than expected that make beating your body up in class more enjoyable.

Least favorite workout?

Anything with wall- balls. 2nd place isn’t even close.

What’s the best part about working out with your class?

I really enjoy the class setting as opposed to any other gym because you’re not just throwing in the headphones and not talking for an hour. Not being from the area it’s a great way to get to know people in the community. After sitting at a desk most of the day I don’t like to think about planning a workout, so it’s great that the WOD is already up on the board or website, and you get so much more motivated with everyone else doing the same workout around you and a coach helping you along the way. I also appreciate that I can bring Madeleine to class when I need to. It’s an added bonus nobody has kicked me out for bringing a baby around flying barbells so often.

What’s the wallpaper on your phone right now?

My daughter, but it’s from over a year ago. I should probably update that.

What’s your favorite “cheat” meal?

A good craft beer. And pizza. And buffalo wings. Actually, whatever’s on the menu. Then ice cream for dessert.

What’s the last thing you searched for on Google?

Probably something about beer.

If you could be any animal in the world, what animal would you be and why?

You mean my spirit animal? Some sort of dog, probably a Lab. As a pet you’re one of the only animals that doesn’t have to fend for your survival. People feed and take care of you, and you can just lounge around all day until it’s time to play.

What is one way CrossFit has positively impacted your regular/daily life?

As my daughter grows I can still lift her up without being put on a stretcher. Before I started I think injured myself once a month just lifting her out of the car seat. The engineer in me wants to be constantly learning and improving, and CrossFit keeps my mind occupied learning the mechanics of how to do a particular movement better than before.

What advice would you give to a new member at RCFBC?

Just keep coming back, no matter how hard it seems. Start light, scale everything you need to. I think the first two months I had a constant smell of Ben Gay on me just so I could move enough to make it to the next class. Once you get warmed up the soreness magically goes away.

If you could sum up RCFBC in one word, what would it be?

Boundless.

Now I believe there was mention of a cheat meal. No?

Recent Posts